IMC – NGO official partner of UNESCO


Electroacoustic Music Competition

The International Confederation of Electroacoustic Music is pleased to announce the biennial PRIX CIME

2017 international electroacoustic music competition. The International Confederation of Electroacoustic Music

(ICEM) was founded in 1981 in Bourges, France and since then it is a member of the International Music

Council (IMC). CIME-ICEM is a non-profit international organization consisting of National Federations and

Organization International Members (OIM). Today, the ICEM consists of fourteen National Federations:

FARME (Argentina), FeBeME (Belgium), CECh (Chile), EMAC (China), LNME (Cuba), Charm of Sound

(Finland), BEAN (Great Britain), HELMCA (Greece), AARSOM (Mexico), PSeME (Poland), Miso Music

(Portugal), AMEE (Spain), AMEG (Switzerland), and UAEM (Ukraine); and of nine International

Organization Members: GrupLac in Bogota (Colombia), MISAME in Paris (France), HCMF in Budapest

(Hungary), Spectro Center in Tehran (Iran), CMMAS in Morelia (Mexico), CEAMMC in Moscow (Russia),

The Orquesta del Caos in Barcelona (Spain), ICST in Zurich (Switzerland) and CEMI in Denton (USA).

For more information please visit:

Deadline for Submissions – May 28, 2017



The competition is divided in two categories:

  • Category 1: Prix CIME – Open to all composers regardless age
  • Category 2: Residency Prix CIME – Open to all composers born after December 31, 1987

Competition Guidelines

  • The competition is open to all regardless of gender, nationality, affiliation and regardless if your

country of residence is a member of ICEM.

  • Applicants may submit up to two compositions (submit a separate application form for each work)
  • Only works written within the last 5 years will be considered.
  • Anonymous submission is not required.
  • There is no duration limitation.
  • There is no entry fee.
  • Open to all forms of electroacoustic music including:

– fixed electronics

– instrument(s) and electronics (fixed and/or live)

– video music

– sound art including new interfaces

  • Works in progress will be not considered.

Submission Guidelines

Submit the online application form. Click on the link below to access the online application form:

In the field “Link, Submission Materials” please provide a valid permanent link to your work using a file

hosting service like Dropbox, Googledrive, OneDrive, etc. Upload a single .zip file titled with your name (e.g. that includes all submission materials, such as audio files (include a stereo reduction

for multichannel works), video files, musical score of the work in .pdf, etc. Make sure the link will not expire

until June 30, 2017.

Jury Members

James Andean (Finland)

Miguel Azguime (Portugal)

Catalina Peralta C. (Colombia)

Rodrigo Sigal (Mexico)

Andrea Szigetvári (Hungary)

Todor Todoroff (Belgium)

Zhang Xiaofu (China)

Alla Zagaykevych (Ukraine)


  1. The competition will award the following prizes:
  • Category 1 – Prix CIME (the prize could be divisible in the case of ex aequo)
  • Category 2 – Residency Prix CIME (1 to 4 residencies)

2. The Studio Residencies for Category 2 include 1-2 weeks studio support, accommodation and lodging arranged by each center independently. The participating centers will be announced in due time.

3. The selected works from both categories will receive:

  • ICEM CD/DVD release
  • Distribution to the ICEM members for concert/broadcast programming, including the ICEM annual


  • Online publication
  • There is no prize money for the awarded works

4. The jury has the right to award Honorable Mentions.

Important Dates

  • Open call February 2017
  • Deadline for submissions May 28, 2017
  • Final deliberations and announcement during the ICEM General Assembly in September 2017


Please send all questions about the competition or the submission process to Panayiotis Kokoras at

The competition is administered by the ICEM Main Board:

Marek Choloniewski, President (Poland)

Panayiotis Kokoras, Secretary (Greece/USA)

Françoise Barrière, Treasurer (France)